The Dwight D Hotel

256 S. 16th Street

Philadelphia, PA 19102

215-772-1901

info@thedwightd.com

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
  • w-rss

5 out of 5

by Noelle on Expedia

**CHOOSE THIS HOTEL**

Posted Dec 22, 2015

Pros: Everything.

Cons: Nothing.

Location: Shopping, dining, drinking and site-seeing.

We arrived late, not a parking space to be found, garages were full and it was freezing outside. Not only were the hotel owners cheerfully waiting for us, they insisted we take their parking space on the street! Vittoria, the owner, then took at least an additional 30 minutes to familiarize us with the hotel, neighborhood, local restaurants and sites to visit, she really went out of her way to accommodate us. The hotel is lovely...clean, comfortable, updated and historically in-tact with high ceilings, crown molding and plank floors. Just outside our room was a coffee station with fresh fruit for our enjoyment. It is a great centralized location for shopping, restaurants, site-seeing, public transportation and getting a true feel for the Philadelphia life style. If you are comparing hotels, definately try this one, you will not be sorry!

 

5 out of 5

by Jason on Hotels.com

Dwight D. is a great stay in Philly.

Posted Dec 8, 2015

This hotel was like having our own personal apartment in the city. The staff was very personable, and they provided us with great ideas for dining and navigating the city. We were celebrating our anniversary and this hotel was a perfect choice for our stay in Philadelphia.

 

5 out of 5

by Jeff on Hotels.com

Lived like a local

Posted Nov 25, 2015

Amazing hotel in the heart of the city! We will be back hopefully when the Eagles are doing better!!! It feels more like an apartment and makes you feel like a local. Thank you so much!

 

5 out of 5

by Lou on Hotels.com

Fantastic getaway hotel!

Posted Nov 7, 2015

My husband and I loved our stay at the Dwight D. We wanted to try something besides the regular hotels. This was an excellent choice for us. Vitoria was lovely and helped us make our choice for dinner the night we stayed. The hotel itself is great. A renovated brownstone. More like staying in a home than a hotel. Only 8 rooms to rent. I cannot encourage anyone enough to give it a try.

11/03/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

Great central location

Pros: Location, owner/staff, central location

Location: All historical sites, plus museums are nearby. Good neighborhood bars, restaurants.

Hotel is in the heart of Philadelphia, easy walking to attractions and restaurants. Comfortable room, great staff

 

11/02/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

Pros: Great location, unique and pleasant house hotel

Had a great experience here. The hosts were very accomodating and communicated via phone and email about all details of our stay. Perfect location in Center City.

 

10/31/2015  •  Sojourner on Expedia

location, comfort, noninvasive friendly staff, character

Location: In the heart of excellent restaurants and within walking distance to outstanding performing arts venues

Quiet, historical character and within walking distance to favorite spots

 

10/27/2015  •  Ceilidh on Hotels.com

Great Hotel with a lot of character and charm/

The Hotel was clean, comfortable and in a great location. Could not have been happier with my overall experience!

 

10/24/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

nice change of pace

Pros: location, and no corporate feel, historic but modern feel

Cons: none, i wanted to stay longer

Location: the hotel is in the middle of many restaurants and shopping, all within walking distance.

this hotel is a nice change of pace from the corporate ones i usually stay at for business. it is centrally located, close to restaurants and shopping. i loved the large spacious room and the view . the host was also very accommodating with my late arrival. i would stay here again.

 

10/24/2015  •  Alvin on Hotels.com

Great location. Near restaurants, museums and shopping. Small boutique hotel ( I think only 8 rooms) and well priced for center city Philadelphia. Near Rittenhouse Square.

 

October 2015  •  Anonymous on Booking.com

The place is not only amazingly beautiful it is quiet and relaxing as well as very good located and warmly personal driven. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

 

09/30/2015  •  Ray on Expedia

Nice break from the major chains!

Pros: Located in a residential area

Location: Lovely restaurant next door, La Viola, and you may bring your own wine! Also, a great micro brew pub on the other side of the hotel called Monk's Pub.

A very nice city hotel just south of the city limits but within walking distance to City Hall and the Convention Center! Very well appointed room with queen bed, TV, clock radio with USB ports to charge cell phones! Large bathroom with large bath sheets and nice little accessories for shower or bath! A Keurig was right outside our door for a welcome cup of coffee or tea first thing in the morning! The owner is very personable and has great knowledge of the City of Philadelphia!

 

09/29/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

Papal Visit

Lovely place to relax after waiting hours to see The Pope. Highly recommend !!

 

09/18/2015  •  Ricardo on Hotels.com

Close to everything.

The room is a little small but cozy. The owner's husband Ken is very helpful and informative. The check in/out process is very informal. You basically shake Ken's hand and walk in and out. The location is excellent. You are close to everything downtown Philadelphia has to offer. Loads of restaurants and shops. City Hall is only a few shorts blocks away. The Liberty Bell is a bit farther but still within a robust walker's reach. A nice change from a standard hotel. One can sit in the living room couches and relax. The streets are very narrow so cycling is doable but slow. The Parisian bistro Parc, next to Rittenhouse Square, is excellent.cycling is doable but slow. The Parisian bistro Parc, next to Rittenhouse Square, is excellent.

09/13/2015  •  Michelle on Expedia

Great location.

Affordable parking less than a block away. Several restaurants close by. Public transportation easily accessible.

 

09/03/2015  •  Nicholas on Booking.com

Fantastic welcome with plenty of information given by the owner, nice room with a cozy atmosphere, really close to the city center and within a typical street

 

09/03/2015  •  Adrinana on Booking.com

Ideally located . We wanted a clean, comfortable room, and meet this standard . Surroundings has excellent restaurants , services and entertainment areas . Located in the tourist center of the city. Very well run by its owners. "

 

08/28/2015  •  Ashley on Expedia

Our experience was great! We drove down for a couple of nights to see a baseball game. Perfect spot to relax and in a great location to take the subway to the game. Very nice that it was in a neighbourhood as opposed to one of the main streets. Really felt like you lived there for a few days. Very clean. Got some great advice from Vittoria for how to save some money using a specific bus to do some touring. Excellent visit and would certainly stay again if we returned to Philadelphia

 

08/24/2015  •  Stephen on Booking.com

Helpful on arrival; lovely property in a great location; great shower!

 

08/23/2015  •  Sieffette on Expedia

Superb Philly Hotel

Great location; amazing colonial style hotel with up to date facilities. The owner, Vittoria, is so helpful and gave us the most helpful advice and suggestions for diring our stay. Would recommend this hotel without a moment's hesitation!

 

08/22/2015  •  Anonymous on Booking.com

Beautiful room, central to all sites in Old City! We walked everywhere! Jethro helped check us in!

 

August, 2015  •  Anonymous on Booking.com

Beautiful house, room and location. Really helpful and friendly owners

 

08/15/2015  •  Timothy on Hotels.com

Monk's Cafe secret hideaway! A+

Vittoria was friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I received a call on day of arrival to make sure I had correct directions, and location of parking. (Nice touch) The accommodations are great...& a few doors down from Monk's Cafe...easy stroll to amazing food and rare beers.

 

08/08/2015  •  Anonymous on Hotels.com

The Dwight

Beautiful home, nicely updated. Great location withing walking distance to restaurants and shopping. I would definitely stay here again.

 

08/05/2015  •  Mido on Booking.com

Location was great for our purposes. Liked the boutique feel, as opposed to a larger hotel.

 

07/28/2015  •  Stephene on Booking.com

Home awesome owner, design and comfort high level room , ideal location 

 

08/01/2015  •  Sonia on Expedia

Highly recommend

I stayed at this hotel for two nights recently. Was in town for a business trip - it is charming, warm and cozy. The location was perfect - right in the heart of downtown and great places to eat. Staff was fabulous!

 

07/21/2015  •  Jonathon on Booking.com

Quiet location in the city but close to restaurants, shops and sites. Ken was super friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Our room was quite nice and sported a huge flat screen TV. The wifi was good as I was working on a project for a client during the stay. A very nice stay, any time I am in Philadelphia, I will be booking a room with them from now on.

 

06/30/2015  •  Paula on Hotels.com

Unique treasure.

Vittoria, the owner, contacted me the night before our stay to ask our arrival time. She generously offered us the opportunity to leave our bags early in the morning and to come back later for check in. Vittoria and her husband greeted us early in the morning, took our bags, and gave us a key to the front door so we could come back when convenient for us. They spent time showing us around the common rooms, reviewing the neighborhood, and giving suggestions for places to visit and how to best traverse the city. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is unique in design and decor. The owners/hosts were so friendly and accommodating! While there was construction on the street, the neighborhood was generally quiet. The hotel is situated close to subway stops and tour bus stops, but not too far to walk to the historic areas. I would definitely recommend the Dwight D.

 

06/29/2015  •  Lisa on Hotels.com

FELT LIKE A LOCAL!

Loved everything about this hotel! We had a balcony facing a small private neighbors courtyard, great for morning coffee. Loved the location and easy to park car and leave it in garage around corner for 18$/day. Can take the 5$ All day " phlash"bus-but it stops at 5-6pm. We felt safe in neighborhood. The next door (on left as you leave)Italian restaurant was great and it was byob. To the right was a nice bar/restaurant that seemed liked by the locals. Further down a coffee shop that had breakfast- a short few minutes walk.I will not stay anywhere else next time in Philly. The hosts explain the layout and door locks and were very friendly. This was like staying in a city B and B without breakfast. But we got up early and walked to the reading terminal and that was amazing for any meal! The hotel does serve keurig coffee. The bed and linens were very comfortable, large direct tv flat screen, and nice shower. Very very clean and quiet. Loved our rooms art and deco furniture.

 

06/29/2015  •  Mark on Expedia

Nice hotel with character

Dwight D is a little known boutique hotel with excellent character. Well situated for access to historic Philadelphia and to a range of excellent restaurants.

 

06/28/2015  •  teresa on Expedia

Close to center city

Great location, close to subway, restaurants. Newly renovated, hosts are friendly and helpful. Great city to visit for food, arts and sports.

 

06/22/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

Great Area!

The hotel is in a lovely area of Philadelphia. The owners were so welcoming and gave us a great deal of informations about Philadelphia. The hôtel has a very interesting history. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

 

06/17/2015  •  Kristin on Hotels.com

A great alternative hotel experience!

A very pleasant alternative to your regular hotel experience. We got a nice and personalized room with a nice bathroom and a balcony out towards a quiet back yard. We wanted to live close to Rittenhouse Square and so the location was perfect. We were met by a very friendly host that could give us good info on the area (dining options, etc). Really a place I would recommend!

 

06/12/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

Very convenient location and helpful manager/owner.

 

06/08/2015  •  Sarah Gate on Expedia

Overnight stay

Amazing hotel in a great location so annoyed we didn't stay longer! Rooms are clean and so comfy with all amenities, great location, have advised all my American family to stay there! Thank you to Vittoria and her husband for amazing service

 

06/07/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

Quiet hotel handy for restaurants, taxis and subw

Stayed for two nights on way to Puerto Rico. Staff very friendly and helpful.

 

06/07/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

A very pleasant surprise!

This is a unique and stylish hospitality experience. Victoria has vision and energy to create this lovely hotel experience in an historic Philadelphia home. I was very pleasantly surprised at the comfort and beauty of the place, which is converted in such traditional architecture and interior design. Great location for shopping, restaurants, taxis and sight-seeing. No hassle - almost like staying in your place.

 

05/20/2015  •  Kathleen on Hotels.com

Felt right at home!

My boyfriend and I stayed at this lovely hotel a few weeks ago while visiting friends and sightseeing. We absolutely loved it! The owner is extremely personable, efficient, and accommodating. The room was beautiful with a small balcony, very clean bathroom and great accessories! We look forward to our next stay!

 

05/10/2015  •  Ruth on Hotels.com

Philly on business

Check in was quick and welcoming. Room was tasteful and comfortable. Great location. Helpful folks running the place.

 

03/24/2015  •  Bryan on Hotels.com

5 stars

I was just staying for a day in Philly and I arrived in late. Owner was waiting for me and helped me with everything I needed, answered any questions I had and was really helpful. The room was lovely and had everything I needed. When I go back to Philly I will definitely want to stay here again

 

03/11/2015  •  Ellen on Hotels.com

will always stay here on future trips

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. It is a lovingly renovated brownstone in the middle of downtown Philly, a haven for all who don't like McHotels. My room was very comfortable and clean , with quiet and consistant heat and a great bed. The owners were very attentive, offering to run out to get me milk when I arrived. When we were having trouble getting a cab for me to take to the train station, they offered to drive me themselves. It is a brisk walk or quick cab to almost all the city has to offer. The service was attentive and my room, a queen studio with a complete kitchen, was stunning. There was even an oversized, deep, comfortable soaking tub. My room was on the 4th floor and had slopping ceiling, which I found charming, but if you have mobility problems or are over 6 ft, you should ask for one of the equally beautiful rooms on a lower floor. The price was great, equal to hotels that are a full star rating lower. I'm never going to stay anywhere else in Philly.

 

03/09/2015  •  Anonymous on Hotels.com

Could not have been a better place to stay.... lov

Was treated like a houseguest. The neighborhood is amazing. I cannot imagine a better place to stay in Philadelphia.

 

02/27/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

Perfect

Wonderful stay at the Dwight D. I had a King junior suite and was at the back of the building, second floor. It was a quiet room with a little kitchen area, king sized bed and separate bathroom area. Beautiful building and the room was perfect. I have nothing negative to say about the experience; the price was good, the location in Center City was perfect, the owner was helpful and friendly, and I will absolutely plan to stay there again. It's a different experience than a regular chain motel and there's something to be said for that; no elevators, mile-long walk to your room, etc. This was like staying in a home with a great location.

 

02/24/2015  •  Melissa on Hotels.com

It was like staying at home!

We had a great two night stay! The owners were friendly and helpful and the building is gorgeous! Our room was more like a really nice bedroom than a stuffy old hotel room. We felt right at home. My only complaint, which isn't really a complaint, is that it was a little hard to find. It's in a row and the sign is small on the door. Like I said, not really a complaint, just an observation for anyone else staying to look on the door for the sign. There is a parking garage on the side street right across the street. This was called Latimer Street. It was $15 a night for parking and the staff at the parking garage were also very nice and got our car quickly each time. It was cold and snowy during our stay, but we still were able to walk several blocks to many good restaurants in the area. Next time we are in Philly, we won't stay any where else! Great place!

 

02/21/2015  •  Dennis on Hotels.com

Unique townhouse accommodations in Center City

Charming inn perfectly conveniently located a half block away from the PATCO station at 16th & Locust. Just a couple of blocks from the KImmel Center and the Academy of Music. Large rooms with high ceilings, great living room area. Gracious hosts. Vittoria as a most welcome hostess and enjoyed hearing about all our activities and sharing her own travel stories.

 

02/03/2015  •  Anonymous on Expedia

This guest did not leave a comment.

Great boutique hotel in the heart of Center City, Philadelphia. Walking access to great restaurants at Rittenhouse Square, shopping, and entertainment along the Avenue of the Arts. Wonderful for a single guest on a short stay, even better for a small group or wedding party over a long weekend. I will definitely do the Dwight D. again.

 

02/03/2015  •  Jonathan on Hotels.com

Amazing home away from home in Center City

We booked a stay at the Dwight D for the weekend of our wedding to get out of the house. We arranged an early checkin so that my wife could get ready in the room. Her friends said that they felt like they 'were in a room of her mansion'. The proprietor was very helpful and a very nice lady. The room was very well decorated and everything was very clean. The neighborhood is amazing and very convenient to the subway and amenities. There are amazing places to eat nearby and a CVS a block away. We loved our stay and will be recommending to all of our friends and family.

 

02/02/2015  •  David on Hotels.com

What a Gem

An amazing small hotel find! In the middle of everything you need in Philadelphia

 

01/19/2015  •  Michael on Hotels.com

The comfort of home

In town for business. A lovely restored place with the comforts of home. Proprietors were very friendly and helpful. And with direct proximity to great restaurants and Rittenhouse Square, a great place to relax after a busy day.

 

12/30/2014  •  joseph on Hotels.com

Superb!!!

Normally we stay at the Four Seasons. I had read about this Hotels "Philadelphia charm" and was intrigued. Could not have asked for a better experience. Vittoria, the owner, was gracious and professional. Superb location and simply exquisite building and room. Highly recommend and can't wait to return!!

 

12/23/2014  •  victor on Hotels.com

Nice find

We had a night out in Philly and needed a place to stay for the night. we prefer smaller, boutique hotels. the dwight D was an ideal spot. Very large house with eight rooms to rent, a large living area and plenty of room. We were the only tennants during our stay which made it feel more like home. Monks cafe was a few houses down, which was a plesant surprise. We were also walking distance to Rittenhouse. the host was very pleasant and made us feel at ease. For the cost and the epxerience, this was an excellent value

 

12/20/2014  •  Anonymous on Hotels.com

Great place, great deal

Place is beautiful and a great deal and location.

 

12/16/2014  •  Keith on Hotels.com

Boutique Hotel - Hidden Gem near Rittenhouse

Boutique hotel, no parking but garage is about a 500ft walk @ $18 CA$H a night – less then hotel avg of $30-40. Check in 2-7p, easy to make alt arrangements if needed. Owner lives on site and is the manager. Victoria was charming; beautifully restored the hotel herself. Wonderful mix of historic charm & modern rooms, baths, decor, digital door locks &flat screens. Wifi free! Regular hotel rooms & very nice little studio "penthouse" w\kitchenette w\balcony & nice view. Krupps = free :) Large usable common space on the 1st floor which was nice for hanging out. Short walk to Rittenhouse @ restaurants, nightlife and shopping, etc - FRACTION of the cost of large Boutique hotels like Palomar & Sofitel (block away). Love the idea that we may just rent the 9 rooms w\friends and have a couples getaway w\private common space to hang and drink BYOB style in the city. Only negative: small historic brownstone = noise carries a bit –wood stairs at 2am - sound does travel in the hard surface historic halls. Other than that = WONDERFUL! LOVE the building, rooms & Victoria was a extremely gregarious to discuss the building\surrounding neighborhood & places for the guests to eat, drink, sight see if you need help. Looking for a romantic quiet weekend getaway? Traveling for a week and like the feel of being home rather then a big bustling chain hotel – then highly recommended to try this place out. Even if just once, well worth the stay. :) – Thanks - K & H

 

11/18/2014  •  Steve on Hotels.com

Gem in the city

Great location in a beautiful, historic building. Welcoming and friendly hosts.

 

11/09/2014  •  MARK on Hotels.com

Definitely be back

Great location and the owner was extremely pleasant and very helpful in suggesting places to go.

 

11/08/2014  •  jarrod on Expedia

Perfect location, So much better than a hotel

Hosts were so helpful- gave us loads of tips and advice. Next door to beat bar in the City (Monks), and best cafe in city (Plenty). Stay here

 

10/23/2014  •  Rick on Expedia

Hidden Gem in Philly!

What a great little hotel. The staff was very accommodating and always seemed happy to see me. The room was cute and the location is spectacular. I really feel as though I had an authentic Philadelphia experience!

 

10/27/2014  •  Matt on Hotels.com

Best room in Philadelphia

We spent 2 nights at this lovely home. The owner has turned a city house into a hotel. The room is very comfortable with a fridge, microwave direct TV with a shared Kurig coffee maker in the hall. The home is close to the historic district. Vittoria felt like an old friend after a short time. We hated to leave!

 

10/20/2014  •  Cherry on Hotels.com

The best service and location in Philly!

We travel a lot and both of us were blown away by the quality of the service at the Dwight D. The hotel manager gave us her personal phone number and she was incredibly helpful -- even when we threw her curveballs like needing to buy black socks for a tux 10 minutes before leaving for a wedding! The hotel room was well-furnished with a bonus small balcony overlooking a charming garden. The location couldn't be better -- it's steps from Rittenhouse Square and from the Kimmel Center, and tucked away on a quiet, tree-lined street. Highly recommended.

 

10/19/2014  •  Whit on Hotels.com

Location awesome. Much better than staying in a corporate hotel in center city. Room was large and beautiful, as was bathroom (BTW great hot water, showerhead, and pressure). One window shutter was missing though. Bed was very comfortable and I slept well. Best of all were the proprietors, who worked really hard to take care of everything and were kind and hospitable as well. I'll stay here whenever I can if I'm in Philly.