The Dwight D Hotel

256 S. 16th Street

Philadelphia, PA 19102

215-772-1901

info@thedwightd.com

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • w-googleplus
  • w-rss

5 stars

by irene on Hotels.com

Perfect daycation!

Posted Dec 24, 2016

Amazing!

 

5 stars

by Lindsay on Hotels.com

Fantastic Unique Location and Friendly Service!

Posted Dec 19, 2016

Absolutely loved this boutique hotel. We used to always stay in a nearby larger hotel for the same price, but there was always so much noise from kids running in the hallways or being too close to the elevator. This adorable city house hotel was incredibly comfortable, quiet (no road noise!), and felt extremely luxurious for the affordable cost. Fluffy robes, premium free little shampoos, incredible bedding, and recently renovated upscale bathroom really made us feel like we were living it up! Vittoria was very welcoming and was able to easily accommodate for us to leave our bags with them on check-out day so that we didn't have to lug them with us for the little sight-seeing we did after our check-out time. While there isn't much for the night-life in this area, there's plenty to do during the daytime - lots of shopping and restaurants within a 1-10 minute walking radius. Loved walking through Rittenhouse Square too - only a five minute walk away! Thanks for the hospitality and we WILL be back and spread the word about this amazing place to stay!

 

5 stars

by Anonymous on Hotels.com

Clean and convenienf

Posted Dec 18, 2016

Hotel was in a very good location, convenient to walk to many places. Very charming hotel and very hospitable hosts who made you feel so relaxed and at home. Rooms were also clean and nicely decorated . Ken & Victoria also very nice and accomodate well. overall hotel had alot of historical architectural design which was very nice.

 

5 stars

by Tom and Vickie on Expedia

Awesome Hotel ...Highly Recommended!

Posted Dec 12, 2016

Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly accommodating staff

Cons: Nothing

Location: outstanding restaurants, all historical sites within walking distance

From the start we knew this was going to be a special experience. Vittoria was most accommodating from our early check in to her sharing a tour guides knowledge of the area. All of her recommendations were spot on making our Centre City adventure the best it possibly could be. My wife and I have traveled extensively and we have never felt so welcomed! Beautifully decorating throughout and most comfortable for our stay! We will definitely return to the Dwight D on our return to Philadelphia and highly recommend to anyone planning a trip!

 

5 stars

by Anonymous on Expedia

Perfect hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016

For the price + location + amenities, this hotel is perfect. The room was cozy, charmingly decorated, and dead-quiet. The hotel staff was really friendly and accommodating. Location is great, close to rittenhouse but on a quieter/more charming street than most of the hotels in the area. I have zero complaints and would stay there again without hesitation

 

 

5 stars

by Steve on Expedia

An Oasis in the City

Posted Nov 23, 2016

Pros: Quiet but still very central, personal service, good quality room.

Location: Perfect location for all the amenities in central Philly

Small but perfect hotel in a great location. 2 minutes from everything that is going in in the city centre. Excellent room with really comfy bed. Does not have the facilities of a large hotel but this is more than compensated for by the personal attention. If you want a good quality hotel with personal service in a great location then you can't go wrong.

 

5 stars

by Anonymous on Orbitz

Beautiful boutique hotel in city center

Posted Nov 21, 2016

Lovely room, lovely proprietor, great location. My room was so comfortable and unique and a great value.

 

5 stars

by Jenna Michelle on Expedia

Wish I stayed longer

Posted Nov 15, 2016

Pros: The Dwight D. is a gorgeous hotel, only a few steps from city center. The room was clean and comfortable, with great linens and amenities.

Cons: Expedia is making me type something in this box in order to submit my review...

Location: I was quickly able to get to my meetings in city center, and there are great food options right down the block. Try Monks Cafeteria!

 

5 stars

by Allan on Hotels.com

Cozy and convenient in historic Philly

Posted Nov 14, 2016

Vittoria and Ken were extra friendly, particularly in restaurant recommendations and otherwise navigating the city.

 

5 stars

by Jerald on Hotels.com

Historic Inn with all the Modern Comforts of Today

Posted Nov 11, 2016

I stayed at the Dwight D hotel for two nights and have a very lovely stay. The owners couldn't be nicer and they have truly poured their heart and soul into this inn. The rooms are very well designed. You truly appreciate this historic interiors with all the modern comforts of today (including a Bluetooth speaker you can sync your phone to when getting ready in the morning). The owners also have three lovely dogs that stay in the office during the day which only made this trip that much more enjoyable. I couldn't recommend a better place to stay, and I'm looking forward to going back on my next trip to Philly.

 

5 stars

by Anonymous on Hotels.com

Great Stay!

Posted Oct 27, 2016

I was greeted by the hotel owners upon my arrival who walked me to my room and gave me suggestions on nearby dinner spots. Everyone was very friendly, the room was awesome and the hotel is in a great location.

 

5 stars

by Heleana on Hotels.com

Posted Oct 11, 2016

This was a great place. I liked it a lot better than a big hotel.

 

5 stars

by Mindy on Orbitz

Posted Sep 27, 2016

A wonderful place to stay in center city. Walking distance to almost everything downtown. The owners Victoria and Ken were so attentive and welcoming!

 

5 stars

by Anthony on Hotels.com

Big city living.

Posted Aug 30, 2016

We loved our room. This is exactly what we expected. A great way to see the city.

 

5 stars

by Mark on Hotels.com

THE place to stay in Philadelphia!

Posted Aug 28, 2016

A great place to stay in Philadelphia. Quiet, clean, extremely comfortable, and within easy walking distance to history, great food, great art, and great jazz. Vittoria and Ken made us feel right at home and were incredibly helpful and gracious. We will certainly be back. Oh, and make sure to ask "Jinxy" for a tour of the local pubs!

 

5 stars

by Ajaka on Expedia

townhouse charm

Posted Aug 20, 2016

The Dwight D is an absolutely beautiful hotel in the center of the city. You can walk to literally everything you could want or need. While there are not bigger hotel amenities like a gym or room service, you do not miss any of that in this amazing little hotel. I will be staying here for all of my business trips and already recommended it to all of my colleagues and family

 

5 stars

by ANTHONY on Hotels.com

Fantastic Experience near Rittenhouse Square

Posted Jul 4, 2016

You would never know this was a hotel. It fits right in with the row homes and retail businesses. Amazing location, ease of parking and tons of entertainment options all around. The owners also operate the hotel, so you get personalized service and care. I highly recommend this urban gem near Rittenhouse Square!

 

5 stars

by Dewi on Hotels.com

Quaint, friendly and convenient.

Posted Jul 3, 2016

Great experience from beginning to end. Victoria (owner) friendly and very informative. Highly recommended and a nice change from chain hotels

 

5 stars

by Donna on Hotels.com

A quick trip to Philadelphia

Posted Jul 1, 2016

We needed some place that was close to all the great places to see but was quiet as well. This fit the bill. The owner was very welcoming and informative upon check in. We will definitely be returning.

 

5 stars

by amanda on Hotels.com

Loved staying here!

Posted Jun 22, 2016

Great location. Fast wifi. Beautifully decorated, impeccably clean and spacious room (we were in the executive suite). Friendly and helpful staff. Will stay again next time we visit if they have availability.

 

5 stars

by Peter on Hotels.com

Happy and Historic near Rittenhouse Square

Posted Jun 20, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I had a very pleasant and informative conversation with the owner, Vittoria, who told me about a nearby gallery that is related to my daughter's artistic interests. This was a very easy and pleasant place to stay with a well-appointed room and central location. I would definitely stay there again.

 

5 stars

by Erik on Hotels.com

One of the true gems in Philadelphia lodging

Posted May 21, 2016

Staying at the Dwight D was an incredible experience. Vittoria and Ken (owners) are detail oriented, hospitable, and wonderful people. I was there for a convention, and while I don't stay in Philadelphia downtown often, the experience has encouraged me to go out of my way on future trips to spend a night or two there.

 

5 stars

by Justina on Hotels.com

Sites of Philly

Posted May 15, 2016

It was wonderful. Victoria the owner couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

 

5 stars

by Nikolas on Hotels.com

Dwight D

Posted May 10, 2016

The hotel and staff were excellent. The design of the hotel was aesthetically interesting and the amenities were wonderful.

 

5 stars

by Sarah on Expedia

Philadelphia Gem!

Posted Apr 5, 2016

Location: The hotel is within walking distance of many sights like Rittenhouse Square and restaurants galore.

Beautifully-appointed rooms with modern amenities. Gorgeous details abound---like the wooden inlaid floor, luxurious soaps and vibrant artwork. The innkeeper is friendly and very knowledgeable about the building and surrounding area. Next time I will book a longer stay!

 

5 stars

by Anonymous on Expedia

Nice Change of Pace on a Business Trip

Posted Mar 25, 2016

Pros: Location is fantastic, ambiance is delightful, Annick Goutal toiletries in the bathroom (what a change from that cheap junk you get at Westins).

Location: 2 blocks from Rittenhouse Square - great cafes, shopping, walking in the square, Blo and nail salon. Next door is outstanding Italian restaurant BYOB

If you're tired of the standard business hotels - and want to make your business trip to Philadelphia into an experience more akin to staying with friends in a fantastic location, give the Dwight D a try! Vittoria will make you feel welcome into her beautiful brownstone, only 2 blocks from the delightful shopping and cafes of Rittenhouse Square and right next door to one of the best Italian restaurants in the northeastern US (which is also BYOB - pack a bottle of wine!). It's not a B&B (there's no breakfast) my room didn't have a desk. But who cares? Staying at the Dwight D. made a standard business trip into a delightful interlude. Give it a try!

 

5 stars

by Anonymous on Expedia

New Years Eve 2105

Posted Jan 3, 2016

Location: The Kimmel Center, The Academy, The Mummers Parade route, restaurants and pubs, transportation (trains,cabs,buses)

What a great hotel. Unassuming location that blends in with the neighborhood. As you enter thru the very large solid wooden door, you will step back in time to an aged but well constructed early American hotel. We were greeted by Vittoria was glad to finally meet us. Thru thru foyer and past the lounge and up the stairs to our room. The room overlooked the courtyard and some of the city skyline could be seen. The bathroom was very clean and fairly large with a great shower. Once we settled in, we grabbed a cab to the Penn's Landing for fireworks and then dinner on Chestnut Street. From there we walked up to Broad Street and then back to the hotel. Very near to the hotel is a very good pub called The Black Sheep. The hotel has a good coffee maker and water coolers on every floor. I recommend staying there.